Begun in 1999 as the Morris Community Foundation through a generous grant from the George H. Baum estate, the Community Foundation of Grundy County has grown to over $8 million in assets and has granted over $1.3 million.

  • acorn cropped 800


    Our board, staff, and founders

  • acorn cropped 800


    It's amazing how $25,000 can be leveraged into something this big and impactful!

  • acorn cropped 800


    Investments, annual reports, 990s, and more!

Our mission

The Community Foundation of Grundy County seeks to provide vision for Grundy County in order to preserve and enhance our quality of life.  The Foundation will do this by:

  • providing leadership to identify important needs, concerns, and opportunities;
  • using our grantmaking to respond to those needs and effect change;
  • partnering with local not-for-profit organizations to strengthen their abilities to serve our citizens; and
  • partnering with donors to receive and manage funds that will support the community for generations to come.


Board of Trustees

Jay Fillman, President

Ben Johnston, Vice President

Cathy Macchietto, Secretary/Treasurer

Kristine Bennington

Nancy Bjelland

Kevin Callahaan

Cindy Christensen

Michael Farrell

Ryan Hansen

Stephen Kezerle

Michael Mattingly


Julianne Buck, Executive Director


Devan Gagliardo, Program Director


Judy Hauch, Accounting Manager


In addition to Trustees, the following community members volunteer their time and talent to our committees:

Grants & Programs

  • Patricia Neff
  • Ann Marie Struck
  • Ruth Cheshareck


Retired Volunteers

Original Board of Trustees

  • Jim Baum
  • Carol Narvick
  • Bill Norton
  • Jim Peterson
  • Chuck Richardson
  • Joe Schmitz
  • Dick Schweickert
  • Ann Marie Struck
  • Jack Hynds, legal advisor
  • Ron Wohlwend, financial advisor

Past Trustees

  • Lois Darlington
  • Lorraine Davidson
  • David Ferguson
  • Chris Harty
  • Russelle Holsinger
  • Andy Hunt
  • Mark Jorstad
  • Shantel Leasure
  • Sue Rezin
  • Tom Tesdal
  • Dick Walker
  • Ralph Wolter
  • Al Yancey

Past Committee Members

  • Fred Kieslar

Previous Staff

  • Sherey Zerbian